Better Safe Than Sorry is a Sorry Excuse

I like to give off an air of confidence, but that doesn’t mean that I don’t second guess myself from time to time. Or all the time. I find I’m constantly asking myself such as, “Am I good enough for this position?” or “Is my writing up to par with those I admire?” among other things.

Playing it safe is something I do rather well. I stick to my routine – cling to it really, venturing outside of the norm only on rare occasions. I’ve never really considered this to be such a bad thing until recently.

I was chatting with a friend about taking the next step and really putting myself out there as far as my career, while following each statement with an excuse for why I wouldn’t or couldn’t pursue such things. He then said something that really struck a chord with me:

“Where’s your sense of adventure?”

Good question. Being reckless is one thing, but aren’t you doing yourself more harm in the long run when you don’t take chances? No one ever got anywhere without taking that first step.

This is something essential to your career as well, especially when it comes to establishing a presence in social media. Everybody has to start somewhere, you’ve just got to take that first step and get started. I only recently dove back into blogging here, and it was a challenge, but one that was well worth taking.

So what about you? What risks have you taken to further yourself, both personally and in your career? Where is your sense of adventure?

10 responses to “Better Safe Than Sorry is a Sorry Excuse

  1. I started taking serious risks when I bailed out of my corporate job about 19 months ago… somewhat recklessly actually.

    But the rewards I’ve found since have quadrupled any sense of satisfaction I ever got by sticking around and playing it safe. I’ve learned a lot, but most of all I’ve learned that anything’s possible if we’re willing to take a chance and put the work in!

    • It feels so good to hear someone say that! I see people making strides to achieve the things they really want in life each day, and I am finally ready to start doing so myself. Thank you for sharing!

  2. Love this post. Music to my ears!
    “The biggest regrets we’ll have in life are the opportunities we’ve missed… So, playing it safe is actually risky… No risk, no reward.” – Mark Batterson

  3. Lady RaRa

    Beautiful post! Now get out there and spread your wings…you beautiful butterfly!

  4. I’m in that boat right there with you, my friend! Great post…really hit the nail on the head!!!

  5. Hi Amanda, I one who tends to make excuses as to why something can’t be done, and I’m working to change this and take the risks. I believe you have to take risks to get anywhere worthwhile in life. Great article.

    • I’m working to change it as well. We have to stop making excuses and finally make strides to getting the things we want, no matter how unattainable they may seem. I’ve had enough time to talk, now it’s time to take action. Good luck to you, and thank you for the compliment!

  6. Wow. Your timing is impeccable. I just quit my only source of income yesterday to pursue what isn’t making me a dime…yet. It’s scary (and thrilling) as hell. Thanks for reminding me why I did the right thing.

  7. Love this! Makes me think of the part in Finding Nemo where Dori says to “you can’t let NOTHING happen to him [Nemo] – otherwise NOTHING would happen to him. Not much fun for little Harpo.”
    Love the post!

Leave a Reply

I Tweet, You Tweet.

Categories

